The Incas: Machu Picchu, Cuzco, Inca Trail


Regions of Peru and UNESCO World Heritage List, Mind Map

Cusco's ruins old,
Machu Picchu's ancient gold,
UNESCO's stronghold.

Peru regions Unesco World Heritage

Peru Regions

The regions of Peru are the first-level administrative subdivisions of Peru. After several unsuccessful decentralization attempts, departments were replaced by regions and regional governments elected on November 20, 2002. Under the new arrangement, the former 24 departments plus the Callao Province have become regions. The province of Lima has been excluded from this process and does not form part of any region.

Peruvian regions are subdivided in provinces and districts.

Peru Regions and UNESCO World Heritage Site

The programme, administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee, catalogues, names, and conserves sites of outstanding cultural or natural importance to the common heritage of humanity.

Peru is home of 11 sites: City of Cuzco (1983), Historic Sanctuary of Machu Picchu (1983), Chavin (Archaeological Site) (1985), Huascarán National Park (1985) # Chan Chan Archaeological Zone (1986), Manú National Park (1987), Historic Centre of Lima (1988, 1991), 17 Río Abiseo National Park (1990, 1992), Lines and Geoglyphs of Nasca and Pampas de Jumana (1994), Historical Centre of the City of Arequipa (2000), Caral-Supe Sacred City of Caral-Supe (2009).

World Heritage UNESCO